Trumpeter 1/35 CH-47D crew & Infantry

Just received my Trumpeter 1/35Chinook crew set from Sprue Brothers and I was suprised to see that it comes with a chinook cockpit in case you want to make a diorama. The cockpit sprues are not the same as in the Heli kit with some of the structure and floor moulded as one such as center pedestal (console). The aft bulkhead is one piece with the circuit breakers moulded in as well.

Finally, there is a set of body armor that is made out of rubber, interesting as well.

Nice touch and hopefully there is a review out there. I am not good at giving reviews and maybe later I can take photos.

Sounds pretty nice. How do the figures look? What other accessories does it come with? I am waiting on the review to get this one.

I am new to figures but they look good. Helmets are seperate from the heads so a lot of options. As far as uniformand gear accuracy, I have no clue.

Looks pretty good. Can you get some close-up pics of the figures and the heads? Trumpeter has a problem with heads in their previous sets. They tend to be featureless blobs.

Hope these are clear enough.

heads-1.jpg

heads-2.jpg

Helmets-2.jpg

Camel-baks.jpg

Quick question: Whats the advantage of the vinyl body armor versus just injeciton-moulded plastic like the rest of it?

I can't figure out that one either. The Dragon gear in vinyl from their USMC M1A1 Baghdad kit didn't paint up well and was hard to clean. I didn't see the advantage there either. I think the vinyl is able to hold detail better or something, at least that was the reasoning from Dragon. Looks like they are extras though, as each figure has a plastic torso with it. Hmm, it doesn't look like the ground troopers have IBAs on their plastic torsos though.

Edited by HeavyArty
Guest LITTLE BIRD 117

The chinook pilots do not seem to have chicken plates either. Most if not all -47 pilots are issued chicken plates over in the sand box, or where ever else they are deployed.